CLASS- Central Lakes Art Support Scheme


These grants are administered by the four Community Arts Councils in the Central Lakes Trust region to increase, at a local level, both participation in the arts and the diversity of arts available to the community. The four Community Arts Councils are based in Alexandra, Wanaka, Queenstown and Cromwell.

The maximum amount per project that can be funded through this Scheme is $2,000. If funding greater than $2,000 is required, then a direct application should be made to the Central Lakes Trust by way of the standard Central Lakes Trust grant application form.

Conditions of CLASS
For the purposes of the Central Lakes Trust Arts Support Scheme, “Arts” is defined as, “all forms of creative and interpretive expression”. These include:

  • Language, Arts and Literature

  • Performing Arts

  • Visual Arts

  • Multi-disciplinary (projects which cross over two or more of the above categories.

  • Applicants must meet the Scheme’s eligibility criteria.

  • Grants are limited to a maximum of $2,000 per project.

    Applicants can only receive one grant in any 12-month period from Central Lakes Trust either through:

  • Central Lakes Trust Arts Support Scheme, or

  • Directly from Central Lakes Trust itself.

  • To apply, please contact your local Community Arts Council


    Alexandra Community Arts Council
    Alexandra, Earnscleugh-Manuherikia and Teviot Valley Wards
    Annemarie Hope-Cross or Shona Bain
    Annemarie Hope-Cross (027 246 4887) or Shona Bain (0274 137 421) c/- Central Otago REAP, Alexandra Community House,
    14-20 Centennial Avenue, Alexandra 9320
    Telephone: 03 448 6115
    Email: or

    Creative Queenstown
    Wakatipu & Arrowtown Wards, but excludes Kingston
    Jan Maxwell
    Queenstown Lakes District Council, Private Bag, Queenstown 9348 Telephone: 03 441 0469

    Cromwell & Districts Community Arts Council
    Cromwell Ward
    Peter Mead or Heather McPherson
    82 Neplusultra Street, Cromwell 9310
    Telephone: 03 445 1266
    Email: or Heather McPherson:

    Upper Clutha Community Arts Council
    Wanaka Ward including Makarora
    Robyn van Reenen or Susan Manson P O Box 216, Wanaka 9343 Telephone: 03 443 1810 Email:
    Teviot Arts Society (formerly Roxburgh & Districts Arts Council)
    This group no longer administers CLASS funding for the Roxburgh/Teviot area. Applicants from this area should now contact the Alexandra Community Arts Council. If you wish to contact somebody from the Teviot Arts Society for reasons other than CLASS funding, please email:
    Kyle Mewburn:

    Central Otago District Arts Trust
    If you have an event or project happening in our region, please let Maxine Williams, Central Otago Arts Coordinator know about it. Email: