top of page

Central Lakes Trust (CLT) announce 50 scholarship recipients

Fifty students from five secondary schools were presented scholarships at an official awards function held in Cromwell on the 25 October. The scholarships, valued at $2,500 each, aim to assist student’s in further education beyond secondary school.

Eleven vocational scholarships were awarded, alongside seven Pioneer Energy science and technology scholarships, and 32 tertiary scholarships.

“We’re very pleased to continue supporting young people undertaking further education. In the 16 years this programme has been running we’ve helped 634 rangatahi, to a total value of $1,551,500,” CLT deputy chair, Kathy Dedo says. “Each and every one of them should be applauded for their efforts, they have done exceptionally well.”

Students from the five high schools in the CLT region were eligible to apply through their school. The selection criteria considers various factors including the applicant’s academic record, all-round qualities and achievements.

Ms Dedo says, “there are few better investments we can make in the future success of our community and this region, than to invest in our young people. To our 50 highly deserving students, congratulations and best wishes for your future studies.”

Since 2015 Meyer Cruden Engineering have offered a scholarship and summer internship to go to an eligible first year engineering student. At this year’s awards Lachlann MacTaggart of Cromwell College was presented a Meyer Cruden Engineering Scholarship by Director, Carl Meyer.

The guest speaker at the function was Cam Calkoen. Born with Cerebral Palsy, Cam was told that his biggest challenges would be the way he walks and talks. He dreamed big becoming an athletic gold medalist, highly effective charitable fundraiser, social entrepreneur and now a globally renowned inspirational speaker who ignites a connection and clarity between inspiration, dreams and people.

Ms Dedo says, “Cam delivered a unique message to inspire students to believe things are possible way beyond their thinking, providing stories, tactics and strategies for wellbeing. His speech really resonated with the audience. For our scholars, and indeed the entire community; it has been a tough few years. As we come out the other side, it was not only great have him here, but timely for Cam’s to inspire students to achieve all we can, as they go out to face the world.”

The successful recipients in order by school, are:

Cromwell College Hannah Bisset - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Tom Coudret - PEL Science & Technology Scholarship Eve Drinnan - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Kayleb Hancock - CLT Vocational Scholarship Lachlann MacTaggart - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Ajia Tiplady - CLT Tertiary Scholarship

Dunstan High School

Kieran Boyd - PEL Science & Technology Scholarship Maz Cameron - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Vanessa Gallagher - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Jamie Hill - CLT Vocational Scholarship Ethan Knights - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Isla Melton - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Jake Miller - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Bridget Mullally - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Ryley Park - CLT Vocational Scholarship Hannah Tait - CLT Tertiary Scholarship

Mount Aspiring College Kimiya Byrne - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Will Collins - CLT Vocational Scholarship Toby Davies - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Harry Gilbertson - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Isla Henderson - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Carter Hewson - CLT Vocational Scholarship Lucy Laws - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Daisy Orbell - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Layton Osnabrugge - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Ella Parker - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Rory Read - CLT Vocational Scholarship Hayden Watson - PEL Science & Technology Scholarship Matai Wells - PEL Science & Technology Scholarship

Roxburgh Area School

Sarah Gunn - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Jessamy Wales - CLT Tertiary Scholarship

Wakatipu High School

Cole Bramwell - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Jasper Cusiel - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Paige Cusiel - CLT Vocational Scholarship Samuel Davis - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Keely Erskine - CLT Vocational Scholarship Jett Fa’amalepe - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Jacob Marriott - PEL Science & Technology Scholarship Megan McCulloch - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Harry McVicar - PEL Science & Technology Scholarship Annabella Middleton - PEL Science & Technology Scholarship Oliver Pope - CLT Vocational Scholarship Olive Ritchie - CLT Vocational Scholarship Rachel Scobie - CLT Tertiary Scholarship James Scoles - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Ella St John - CLT Vocational Scholarship Sophie Thompson - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Esther Vile - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Jacob Wilkinson - CLT Tertiary Scholarship Minna Zhu - CLT Tertiary Scholarship


bottom of page